48 New DLC Tracks Racing Into Mario Kart 8 Deluxe

Yes, you read that right. After nearly five years after release, Mario Kart 8 Deluxe is finally getting DLC with an additional 48 race tracks. Absolutely wild.

The Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Booster Course Pass features a total of 48 tracks that will release in six different waves starting on March 18, 2022 and ending towards the end of 2023. All courses will be remastered tracks from throughout the series, including the most recent Mario Kart Tour. The first wave will contain the Golden Dash Cup and the Lucky Cat Cup and feature the following courses:

  • Golden Dash Cup
    • Paris Promenade (Tour)
    • Toad Circuit (3DS)
    • Choco Mountain (N64)
    • Coconut Mall (Wii)
  • Lucky Cat Cup
    • Tokyo Blue (Tour)
    • Shroom Ridge (DS)
    • Sky Garden (GBA)
    • Ninja Hideaway (Tour)

No word on any other additions like new characters or items. It’s interesting to note that the courses all share the Mario Kart Tour art style and previously remastered tracks like Choco Mountain retain their design from the mobile game. That being said, it’s likely most tracks in the Booster Course Pack will be tracks already featured or currently planned to release in Mario Kart Tour. Although not confirmed, the Coconut Mall theme that played during the trailer was not a remix and the rest of the tracks will likely retain their original music.

The Booster Course Pack will retail for $24.99 but Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack users will have the DLC included in their plan.